The Breaking Point

I’m 3 weeks out from my very first body sculpting competition. I’ve always thought of doing one, it wasn’t until watching my sister do one that really sparked my courage and inspiration. Today I’ve done two lots of cardio, first was high intensity and second was an hour walk in the arvo, this is not normally how I’d attack my cardio sessions.

Let’s start by saying I had a really good day. It was productive, I got up early went to the gym, relaxed and got my hair done and then in the arvo went for a walk with my sister, who is also my coach. Plus I also ate all my food on the meal plan pretty perfectly (Not unusual, but I’m not going to lie and say I haven’t stuffed up at least once, I am human)

But it’s now I’m at home with my boyfriend, I’m seriously out of energy and I feel like I cannot even get up to go to the bathroom. Everything is so hard. SO HARD!

image

To the point where I’m wondering if I can go through three more weeks of feeling like this. Crying to my boyfriend, sobbing that I’m just so exhausted.
So many questions running in my head;
Can I do this?
Is 3 weeks really that long?
Is this normal? 
How do I do this?
When will I start feeling better?
What is wrong with me?
Am I that weak that I can’t do this?

But all through this I’m not asking why this is important to me. Why am I doing this?

Well, to be honest I’m doing this for the experience. As a Personal Trainer I wanted to know what it feels like to prepare your body for something as extreme as this.  And I take my hat off to those that do this for their professional life. It takes so much dedication to every aspect of your life. It sure is fun, but it’s also a shit load of hard work.
●Preparing meals, every God damn week
●Weighing your food (at raw measure)
●Body fat measurements
●Training
●Adjusting meal plans
●Increasing training
●Increasing cardio
●Decreasing the right foods at the right time
●Posing classes/coaches
●Getting stage ready (the fun/expensive  part, bikinis, shoes, tan, hair, makeup)

All while doing what you do to make ends meet, so you can damn well pay to be apart of a membership, so you can then pay to get on stage.

So three weeks to go.
The final question I’ll ask myself tonight.
Can I do this?
Yes, yes I can.  I’ve come too far to give up. Why would I be giving up when I’ve worked so hard to get to this point.

I said I wanted experience and experience so far teaches me that it’s important not to give up.  It’s hard, but the hardest things are often the most rewarding.

image

Leave a Reply

