The Right Path

When my best friend Jess came up to me and said “I really want to go to Europe, where should I start?” The ONLY reply that was nescessary was “WITH ME!”

I had been furiously working off the previous kilos I had gained on my last holiday, and the dedication and hard work paid off! I was feeling so healthy and happy, the more I focused on being healthy, the less body issues I had. Learning about fitness through my course, I was able to push myself further, and as a result started weight training, which I fell IN LOVE with! Being able to do things I’ve never felt before made me feel so strong and independent, which is hard to come by when you’re only 21.

I didn’t want this feeling to slip away from me when I did this second trip. I didn’t want to feel that unhealthy/unhappy about my body the way I did before. Not knowing what to expect, I told her I would be doing this trip a little differently, by maintaining my fitness levels and eating healthier than what the usual crazy EU trip would be for two 21/22 year olds!

She gave me 110% support every day to help me, I’ll admit there were times we bickered about small things, like if I could give the water a rest so we wouldn’t have to stop to pee every 5 minutes! But then again, we were with each other for a 5 solid weeks, and I wouldn’t change a thing about that!

Our first goal we had given to ourselves was to not take the easy way out. By this we meant; no escelators, lifts or taxis (unless they were the only option) And let me tell you, those underground train stations are PRETTY FAR UNDERGROUND! And those magnificent buildings are pretty darn tall!

So we picked up our 15kg backpacks and started climbing those stairs, 15kg doesn’t seem like much, but when you pack stupid stuff that you don’t really need, like heels and straighteners, it gets uncomfortable fast.

IMG_6297.JPG

(she might kill me for that photo haha!)

Our second was to be active everyday, now that might sound easy you say, seeing as you walk so much in Europe, and walking is great, super great! But remember how I said I wanted to maintain my fitness? We didn’t want to carry our bags to the park for our weight training so we had to be creative with our programs! We would explore the city by running to exciting land marks or views in the city and do some body weight HIIT (high intensity interval training) nearby. This I would almost regret when we walked up those bloody stairs in the underground the next day getting to our new destination of choice!

Lastly, was to enjoy EVERY moment and to say yes to new adventures (yes, even a few wild food choices!)
This meant choosing foods we hadn’t tried, going out for drinks with new friends and most of all seeing places we wouldn’t have seen had we stuck to a plan!
image

image

image

image

image

image

image

 

Leave a Reply

